Skip to content | Accessibility Information

Department of Design Awards 2022

Department of Design Awards 2022

Design Awards 2022

30 May 2022

Winners of student awards announced

The annual Department of Design Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding achievements of our final year undergraduate students. They seek to recognise and reward outstanding contributions to the discipline whilst evidencing impact into wider contexts of society, the profession or academia.

Design Breakthrough Award

An individual who has demonstrated design excellence through the inter-connected possibilities of design practice; challenging the norms of their specialism which has led to responses in new and unexpected directions.

Bruno Schooling - Joint Winner
Chloe Watts - Joint Winner

Pepper MacPherson
Mette Baunsgaard
Marlena Jolkowicz

Design Innovation Award

Projects which demonstrate exemplary innovation in craft, making or digital processes across any medium, such as drawing, typography, print, weave, digital modelling, film, physical artefacts and other means of communication or design development.

Anja Cox Cunningham - Winner
Caden Silver - Highly Commended

Razan Ahmed
Tangina Taiyeba
Carlie Smith
Poppy Loughtman
David Norbury

Design Futures Award

Projects which address the future design landscape, including post-Covid responses to political, economic and social shifts and challenges including the innovative use of design or rethinking of a familiar design practice with an unfamiliar purpose/outcome.

Jess Lee - Winner
Isobelle Hayes - Highly Commended

Caden Silver
Lucia Mills
Helayna Lagos
Ryan Whitfield

Design Award for Community, Diversity & Inclusion

Projects which address design in the context of community including issues of social justice and equity, and fundamental human rights and dignity for all.

Louise Dalgleish - Winner
Daniela Lupton Paez - Highly Commended

Niamh Crompton
Bruno Schooling
Charlie Black
Zofia Roginska

Design Contexts Award

A dissertation, essay, or alternative submission which demonstrates exemplary research and critical analysis of cultural and professional contexts in the field of design.

Amelia Land - Winner
Daniela Lupton Paez - Highly Commended

Mette Baunsgaard
Fergus Byron
David Norbury

Winners were announced in the Benzie Café at the Private View 10th June by Shelley McNulty, Head of Design.